Meagan Church

Author of The Last Carolina Girl

Coming Spring 2023 from Sourcebooks

Set in 1935 North Carolina against the backdrop of a recently formed state eugenics board, THE LAST CAROLINA GIRL is an emotionally charged novel following one girl fighting for her family, her future and her own place to stand in a world that doesn’t always value the wild spirit of a Carolina girl — perfect for readers of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don’t Rise.

Meagan Church writes to explore the truths and nuances of who we are. But mostly she writes because she’s compelled to unearth overlooked stories. Her historical fiction chronicles the plight and fight of unheard voices of the past. After receiving a B.A. in English from Indiana University, Meagan built a career as a storyteller and freelance writer for brands, blogs and organizations. A Midwesterner by birth, she now lives in North Carolina with her high school sweetheart, three children and a plethora of pets.


Curious about an author’s journey?

The road to becoming a published author is long and winding. And did I mention long? If you’d like sneak peeks, giveaways & behind-the-scene stories of my journey to becoming a debut author, then I hope you’ll subscribe to my newsletter.


From the Blog

  • Worst. Writing Advice. Ever.

    Worst. Writing Advice. Ever.

    Some of the worst writing advice I ever heard came from an author I admired. While leading a writing workshop, a woman asked him, “What advice can you give to someone who wants to write books?” His answer went something like: Find a cabin in the woods and get away

    Read More

  • How I Got a Literary Agent

    How I Got a Literary Agent

    Last January, I received the following message from one (of the many!) literary agents I had queried: I finished reading over the holiday and loved your book! Thank you so much for sharing. Before I read again for editorial notes, I wanted to check in to make sure the manuscript

    Read More